About WSTS

Background Information

Accurate time synchronization is an essential driving force in the success of today’s most commonly used technologies. Effective “sync” is imperative for the operation of mobile wireless systems. LTE, driven by the demands of significantly greater spectral efficiency and the migration to small cells, is also sync-dependent. Next-generation E911 networks now have new, more stringent requirements for time synchronization. And greater awareness is developing of GPS and GNSS vulnerability to external interruption and corruption. Today’s networks face challenges as they support both existing and emerging services that have a variety of sync needs: time, frequency and phase synchronization. Add to the mix that new standards for time synchronization are being developed in the ATIS, ITU, IEEE, IETF and other standards bodies.

The 23rd Annual Workshop on Synchronization in Telecommunication Systems (WSTS), sponsored by NIST and ATIS, is a vendor-neutral technology workshop that will address evolving sync requirements, as well as the roll-out of new sync systems and standards, and how this affects network operators and equipment manufacturers.

The WSTS is managed by a Steering Committee composed of synchronization experts representing a cross section of users, manufacturers and professionals associated with telecommunication network synchronization. The Committee sets the strategic priorities for the event and defines the main topics to be addressed each year. Committee members include:

WSTS and its sister conference in Europe, Time and Sync in Telecoms (ITSF), represent a global alliance of pre-eminent experts in synchronization for telecom and related applications. Many of these experts participate on the steering committee of both conferences, and various standards bodies including ATIS, ITU, IEEE and IEFT.

WSTS 2014 Steering Committee

General Chair:

  • Marc Weiss, Ph.D. Mathematical Physics, Time and Frequency Division, NIST

Technical Program Co-Chairs:

  • Silvana Rodrigues, Director of System Engineering, IDT
  • Kishan Shenoi, Principal Consultant, Shenoi Consulting

IEEE Communications Society Liaison, TAOS TC:

  • Professor Stefano Bregni, Polytechnic of Milan


  • Ken Biholar, Director - North American Standards, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Mary Carbin, Business Development Manager, Rakon UK Limited
  • Tommy Cook, CEO, Calnex
  • Lee Cosart, Senior Technologist, Microsemi
  • Professor Charles Curry, BEng, CEng, FIET, Managing Director, Chronos Technology Ltd., UK
  • Pat Diamond, Principal, Diamond Consulting
  • Ron Evans, Director Sales/Marketing, Wireline Products, Frequency Electronics
  • Mike Gilson, Lead Technology Consultant, British Telecom
  • Anurag Gupta, Consultant
  • Lloyd Green, Marketing Director, IEEE-SA (IEEE Conformity Assessment Program)
  • Donna Kurt, Retired
  • Lauren Layman, Vice President, Marketing and Public Relations, ATIS
  • Phil Mann, Microsemi
  • Michael Mayer, Technology and Standards Consultant, MGM Consultants
  • Laurent Montini, Technical Leader, Cisco
  • Michel Ouellette, Vice President of Engineering, Iometrix
  • Bill Powell, Systems Architect, Fixed Access, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Stefano Ruffini, R&D Expert, Ericsson
  • Sam Sambasivan, Principal Member of the Technical Staff, AT&T
  • Dave Spencer, Product Marketing Manager, Semtech
  • Ravi Subrahmanyan, Director of Systems Integration, Invisage Technologies
  • Adam Werthimer, Systems Architect, Microsemi