Man typing on computers in data center Outdoor shot of cell towers

Board of Directors

ATIS is led by a dynamic Board of Directors composed of CTOs and other senior-level executives representing all facets of the global ICT industry.

Composed exclusively of executive-level leaders from the top ICT companies, the ATIS Board is the most senior of all governing bodies of its type in the industry. This distinction brings to the agenda a business-driven approach and commercial rigor that only a “view from the top” can deliver.

This diverse group of high-caliber leaders understands the industry’s most pressing business and technical challenges, enabling them to actively set ATIS’ strategic, technical and operational direction. Their vision and first-hand knowledge of the issues drives ATIS’ priorities for creating best-in-class standards and solutions.

The ATIS Board provides insight into the future of ICT by bringing together the industry’s top minds to interact in a variety of forums, including the Technology and Operations (TOPS) Council and the Chief Information Officer (CIO) Council.

Chair of the Board

Stephen Bye, Sprint
Chief Technology Officer and Senior Vice President, Technology
Development & Corporate Strategy

First Vice Chairman


Second Vice Chairman

Thomas Sawanobori, Verizon
Vice President - Network Corporate Technology


Joseph Hanley, TDS
Senior Vice President, Technology, Services & Strategy



President & CEO

Susan M. Miller, ATIS

Assistant Treasurer

Kelly Weiss, ATIS

Kevin W. Schneider
Chief Technology Officer
Michael Peeters
Chief Technology Officer, Wireless Division
Applied Communication Sciences
Brenton Greene
President & CEO
Andre Fuetsch
Senior Vice President - Domain 2.0 Architecture & Design
Aviat Networks
Shaun McFall
Senior Vice President and CMO

Bell Canada
Stephen Howe
Executive Vice President and CTO

Paul Carpenter
Senior Director, Standards
Bright House Networks
Craig Cowden
SVP, Network Engineering & Operations Enterprise Solutions

C Spire
Board Seat Open

Clayton Pace
President & CEO

Bill Bradley
Senior Vice President & CIO
Joseph Berthold
Vice President, Network Architecture

Kelly Ahuja
Senior Vice President and General Manager, Mobility Business Group

Mark Hess
SVP of Business and Industry Affairs

Bob Suffern
Senior VP and Chief Technology Officer
Cox Communications
Board Seat Open

Emerson Network Power
Thomas Waun
President - Energy Systems

Ericsson, Inc.
Erik Ekudden
Vice President and Head of Technology Strategies

FairPoint Communications
Board Seat Open

Fujitsu Network Communications
Rod Naphan
Senior Vice President, Product and Strategic Planning

Fred Kemmerer
Technology Advisor to the President & CEO
TOPS Council Chair

Harris Corporation
Dennis Martinez
Chief Technology Officer, Harris RF Communications Division

Jeff Edlund
Chief Technologist, Communications & Media Solutions

Lakshminarayan Ravi
Marketing & Business Development

Doug Davis
Chief Technology Officer

Pranav Mehta
CTO, Communications & Storage Infrastructure Group

John Bullock
CTO & SVP of Network Engineering and Operations

Mike Nelson
Senior Technical Officer & VP, Software Engineering

Sue Spradley
Senior Vice President Global Sales
Juniper Networks
Hans-Juergen Schmidtke
VP of Product Management, CTO Office

LG Electronics
Nandhu Nandhakumar
Senior Vice President, Advanced Technology

Marconi Pacific LLC
Tom Gage

Gregg Brown
Senior Director, Strategy
Microsoft Corporate Standards Group

Motorola Solutions
Frank Korinek
Director, Strategy & Business Development

Neustar, Inc.
John Devolites
Vice President of Data Services

NII Holdings, Inc.
Board Seat Open

Nokia Networks
Chris Stark
Head of Business Development, North America (NAM)

Doug Suriano
VP, Products

QUALCOMM Incorporated
Dr. Mark Epstein
Senior Vice President, Development

Board Seat Open

Samsung Information Systems America
Rick Svensson
VP, Sales & Marketing Wireless Networks (Acting Head)

T-Mobile USA
Abdul Saad
Vice President, Systems Engineering & Strategy

Ibrahim Gedeon
Chief Technology Officer

Time Warner Cable
David Flessas
Senior Vice President, Network Operations and Planning

Vitesse Semiconductor
Martin Nuss
VP, Technology and Strategy, Chief Technical Officer

Xtera Communications
William Szeto
Chief Technical Officer, Terrestrial Network Systems


© Copyright 2014 Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions | 1200 G Street, NW Suite 500 | Washington, DC, 20005 | +1 202-628-6380