For Immediate Release

1200 G Street, NW
Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005

Contact: John-Paul Edgette
Phone: 202-434-8851

ATIS Honors 2010 Award Winners

May 3, 2010, Washington, DCATIS congratulates the 2010 Annual Award winners honored at its Annual Meeting of the Committees recently held in Orlando, Florida. The awards celebrate the important contributions of ATIS’ members to its multiple committees and forums. They honor individuals that have consistently demonstrated outstanding leadership, dedication and commitment to ATIS’ standards development programs and technical planning activities.

Awards were given in three categories: the Award for Leadership in Standards Development; the Award for Outstanding Contributions to an ATIS Forum or Committee; and the President’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to Strategic Initiatives.

The Award for Leadership in Standards Development Award is given to ATIS Forum or Committee leaders responsible for one or more major initiatives and whose vision and leadership over the past 12 months resulted in the creation of ATIS Standards. This year saw two Leadership in Standards Development Award recipients, Randy Sharpe of Alcatel-Lucent and Stacy Hartman of Qwest.

Twelve individuals received an Award for Outstanding Contributions to an ATIS Forum or Committee. This award is presented to individuals who have provided valuable contributions to the development or completion of ATIS standards during the past year. The recipients of the 2010 ATIS Award for Outstanding Contributions are as follows: Khaled Dessouky of TechnoCom Corporation; Mark Desterdick of Verizon; Nag Rao of Nokia Siemens Networks; Niranjan Samant of Motorola; Bruce Wilson of Qualcomm; Robin Howard of Verizon; Robin Meier of AT&T; Syed Mubeen Saifullah of NeuStar; Andy Fitzsimmons of Telcordia Technologies; Lee Cosart of Symmetricom; John Messina of AT&T; and Trevor Bowers of ADTRAN.

The President’s Award is given to an individual whose support, advice, and strategic insight have made significant contributions over the years to ATIS and its ability to provide world-class standards. The recipient of the 2010 President’s Award is Mike Nawrocki of Verizon.

“This recognition is well deserved by the ATIS committee members,” said Susan Miller, ATIS President and CEO, “ATIS’ leading standards development activities are made possible by these outstanding individuals. These individuals relentlessly pursue those solutions that continue to propel our industry’s evolution, and are a credit to both ATIS and their respective member-companies.”

ATIS also wishes to thank Ericsson, Alcatel-Lucent, AT&T, Cisco, Qwest and Verizon for their AMOC 2010 sponsorship.

About ATIS
ATIS is the leading technical planning and standards development organization committed to the rapid development of global, market-driven standards for the information, entertainment and communications industry. More than 250 companies actively formulate standards in ATIS’ 18 Committees, covering issues including: IPTV, Service Oriented Networks, Energy Efficiency, IP-Based and Wireless Technologies, Quality of Service, Billing and Operational Support. In addition, numerous Incubators, Focus and Exploratory Groups address emerging industry priorities including “Green”, IP Downloadable Security, Next Generation Carrier Interconnect, IPv6 and Convergence.

ATIS is the North American Organizational Partner for the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), a member and major U.S. contributor to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Radio and Telecommunications’ Sectors, and a member of the Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL). For more information, please visit